2016 Issue 1

VOLUME VI, NUMBER 1 (new series)
CULTURAL REPRESENTATIONS OF THE CITY (I)

Baubles and Books: London & the Consumption of Goods in Classic Modernity
Mihaela Irimia (mihaela.l.irimia@gmail.com)
University of Bucharest, Romania

Revisiting Lisbon in The Book of Disquiet
Thomas J. Cousineau (tcousineau2@washcoll.edu)
Washington College, The United States of America

Changing Modernity: Religion and the High-Rise as Markers of Cultural Identity in Works by Dickens and Dos Passos
Hristo Boev (hristoboev2007@gmail.com)
Independent Researcher, Bulgaria

“The Maze Factor” Vs. “The Solar Eye”: Identities of Walkers and Watchers
Marija Spirkovska (marija.spirkovska@gmail.com)
Independent scholar, Macedonia

The Dormition Cathedral of Kyiv Pechersk Lavra within Holy Kyiv (Late 18th – Early 20th Ct.)
Antonina Kizlova (ant_kiz@ukr.net)
National Technical University of Ukraine “Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute”, Ukraine

The Construction of the Enemy City in the Hebrew Bible: A Case of Thirdspacing
Karolien Vermeulen (karolien.vermeulen@uantwerpen.be)
University of Antwerp, Belgium

The International Hotel as a Heterotopic Site and a Non-Place in the San Francisco Novel I Hotel by Karen Tei Yamashita
Sonia Caputa (soniacaputa@gmail.com)
University of Silesia, Poland

“All we need is a place to belong”: Visions of London in Contemporary British Women’s Poetry
Elena Nistor (elena_nistor@yahoo.com)
University of Agronomic Sciences and Veterinary Medicine of Bucharest, Romania

“In His Blood the Plunge and Rise of Elevators”: Posthuman Manhattan in Steven Millhauser’s Martin Dressler
Anamaria Schwab (schwabana@yahoo.com)
University of Bucharest, Romania

The Garden City and the Socialist Victory City: From Colonial to Dictatorial City Schemes
Ioana Zirra (ioana.zirra@gmail.com)
University of Bucharest, Romania

(Re)Considerations on the Americanness of Poe-tic Cityscapes
Cristina Tania Peptan (taniapeptan90@gmail.com)
University of Craiova, Romania

“It was a pleasing reflection to see the world so prettily chequered”: Aesthetics of Urban Experience in The Spectator
Eduard Ghiṭă (ed.ghita@yahoo.com)
University of Louisville, The United States of America

Failed Representations of the Heavenly Jerusalem in La Queste Del Saint Graal
Monica Ruset Oancă (monicaoanca@yahoo.com)
University of Bucharest, Romania

The Construction of Ethical Subject and Heterotopias in Paul Auster’s City of Glass
Hatice Bay (hatice.bay@hotmail.de)
University of Hamburg, Germany

Romantic Representation of the City in Selected Plays of Tennessee Williams
Agnieszka Woźniakowska (agnieszka.wozniakowska@us.edu.pl)
University of Silesia, Poland